To resolute or not to resolute?

Please tell me I am not the only one who hasn’t done a resolution yet? I mean, I did see the New Year in but I was complaining about how much I wanted to sleep from 9:30pm onwards so thinking of a resolution was out of the question.

As a new mom, the kind of resolutions I want to make are:

  1. Have more sleep
  2. Shower more
  3. Make an effort with my appearance
  4. Wear a bra more often.

Truth be told, I’m only interested in the first one. Dillon has slept through the night for months now but I can’t get over that feeling of exhaustion. 

I’m still being advised to ‘sleep when they sleep’ but when Dillon sleeps, I’m only interested in one thing and that is a hot cup of coffee and some normal tv. 

And who wants to wear a bra anyway?

As a wife, the kind of resolutions I’d like to make are:

  • Learn to cook
  • Tidy up more often
  • Be more attentative to my husband
  • Be more motivated to communicate and not just make random gargle noises.

I don’t cook and I’m a low standard kind of cleaning person. If we lived in the 1950s where it was expected to be a good housewife, to clean and cook meals I would fail miserably. I would be a spinster.

I could make some resolutions to change my perception of myself, to better myself, to become a better person towards others.

All that would require the energy to 1: put a bra on and 2: put make up on.

Well, I have one child but I look like I have 3!

Okay. If I think really hard about what kind of resolutions I want to make and stick to being a first time, tired mom. It would be these, in no particular order:

  1. I want to take time for myself and not just as a treat.
  2. I want to love what I see in the mirror.
  3. I will get into a routine of eating healthy but I won’t be strict on myself.
  4. I want to make more of an effort to regain a social life, more importantly, time with my husband.
  5. I want to become better at organising myself and my home. It’s completely cluttered.
  6. I want to become more patient
  7. I want to learn to cook after learning how to be patient.
  8. I want to find a way to be a stay at home mom and earn enough to support my husband with the bills.
  9. Or; I want to become successful in a career I’d be happy in.
  10. I want to not panic about turning 30.

I think 10 is a healthy double figure number just like the number 30. Which I will not obsess over. I will not, I will not, I will not!!

Leave a Reply

